SHUNNING CLASSICAL CASEBOOK INVESTIGATION TECHNIQUE

February 19, 2017

 

Evidently a Lie / Obviously obtusely Truth;

It’s meant to be  a pair of documents,

Y’see, But I signed both.

.

Caught, I could  share   the clench

He put on that  pair of documents.

.

Bright lights washed this whiteish room.

The solemness thing   a candle brings,

Though I searched,  all the shadows had no shade in this room.

.

We digressed some away from

the heart of the matter

When he stressed  my stories were

fog & mirror

.

I’m sure I concurred  that if

Scenes and factors shift

From tellings to retellings,

It seems the fact is   seeming  shifty.

.

My “But plainly, a  planned  lie,

A tall Alibi, that had ironclad  unchanging,

‘Mimicry!’  is one word-for-word bed story,

Read to children.

.

Isn’t that  one good bet

That wins & sets the liar free?”

.

I think he let it sink in, and then set.

.

“And you expect me to reject

Classic casebook investigation technique

& instead of  doubting inconsistency,

Instead ..One consistent story

Is a tell tale “good bet”

for Guilty?  And yet,

changing ones tune again & again  is uniquely

Honest?   it’s best to revise to clarify..

As one more clearly

recalls  new  old  details?

Just as pieces of night dreams

Resurface  into..Really??!”

“Really??!!!”

.

“Um, yes.”

.

.

.

.

.                                       (from long ago, or maybe not)

2 Responses to “SHUNNING CLASSICAL CASEBOOK INVESTIGATION TECHNIQUE”

  1. I’m too scared to write poetry. I liked yours! I liked this line the best: “When he stressed my stories were fog & mirror”
    That reveals a lot! The contrasts are great.

    • Thanx for weighing in, Cindy. and for noticing the contrasting POVs. I hpe that readers imagined the classic hanging bare light bulb interrogation and the conflict between investigator and suspect. And what, oh what, is the Truth?

Leave a Reply

