N O I S E

February 4, 2017

 

 

 

“May  our  miracles

…Not  be  cruel.”

I tipped my head up,

Away from my novel.

So uncharacteristic

From some televangelistic

Noise at the end of Pop’s assisted-living room.

The old & Southern bible guy

Was odd  about numbers, too.

Not magic mathematics about chapters & verse,

But worse,  what words add up to,

& seven is this

& five is that.

His numbers were different from mine.

Maybe,  I was getting it wrong.

The old & Southern crowd was all nodding.

It takes a stadium.

Maybe  I’m

Imaginin’,

Tho’ mostly sure   that’s it.

 

 

 

 

(7 yrs back)

2 Responses to “N O I S E”

  1. Evelyn said

    Wicked good. Brought me into the scene. The stuff about the numbers is so true, so funny that the Bible puts such significance in the numbers…you didn’t get them wrong. I’m sure you didn’t.

  2. We symbolists gotta make something of all these cues & clues. Your numbers are right as rain, yourself, my friend

Leave a Reply

