THE WAITING

February 19, 2015

Image

I couldn’t keep my shirt on

I actually had a hand at the door

I wouldn’t wait for the EKG guy

.

The express lines were full up at the IGA.

So was the cart in front of me, the one in my way.

My body required liquids  I needed to buy.

& me, I wouldn’t wait for the EKG guy

.

My car needed work (I see I did too, OK?)

Ever  still again, Time stalled & would stay.

Never, “Our time is up for today”

I’d bet Time’s  a fleeting debt, not a gift.

I about bolted  but my Ford’s on the lift.

.

You’d think a man with wait issues

Would shy away some

From a long-distance love, he could only see some.

How he’d wait & wait for  her laugh on the phone

How he’d wait & wait for  her letters to come

How he’d wait & wait for  liaisons  alone

How he’d wait & wait for  a time all their own.

.

.

.

.Artwork  “The Waiting”  kindly loaned by Christian

http://chriseastmids.deviantart.com/

.

.

.

.                                (from a year ago)

Leave a Reply

