SOME ABSORBING ERRAND

July 9, 2013

True happiness we are told, consists  getting out of oneself, but the point is not only to get out- you must stay out; and to stay out you must have some absorbing errand.”

                                                                          -Henry James, from “Roderick Hudson”

.

wretched still/ weeks without coastal sunsets

to wreath Night’s long door  I long for

the right time alone  & wait

as I wait/ I’ll eliminate/ obvious suspects

crowding my space/ I have longed for/

to my credit the thing about editing out

all the non essential/ It’s Everywhere/

and easy to pivot w/pen  then slice there/

I can stick to plans

Mute the music & blinds/

I’ll recede that

loveleaking hand off a needy cat and/ 

Speaking of love, lean forward & force

A poem to her.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE SUNRISE SCENE FOR FAR ABOVE THE CUTTING ROOM FLOOR
 
near the end
purple clouds stir & near
mis-en-scene set, I’ll be blocking the shot
readying my stand-ins
cueing my soundtrack
I’ll need special effects to capture the light
to be faithful to the script
 
 
years ride past alongside our precious bond/
then one moment  one light courses through  brighter than  other rays onto…
she had signed off  (often)   onto a missive
with
(I leaned forward & forced  this life 
To really read)
.
“Love”.
 
One Response to “SOME ABSORBING ERRAND”

  1. Chatty Owl said

    Loved reading this!

Leave a Reply

