AMSTERDAM

September 13, 2012

I lost a friend tonight.

The fleshSTOP forever kind of loss.

When he didn’t show up at the job

He went  on & on  about leaving

& Joining his dream;  Free  in Amsterdam.

Friends from that job

Went and found his body.

He’d lived alone in his own woods

Since his wife died.

Yet I knew him to truly enjoy his day.

(He was ahead of me that way)

His own time he’d savor.

Complex gourmet foods he’d prepare for himself.

He’d  savor

Simple fairweather, days & nights, for himself.

Goddamn, he wanted

& Waited on Amsterdam,

.

.

RIP  Dave

3 Responses to “AMSTERDAM”

  1. prewitt1970 said

    I’m very sorry for your loss.

  2. thanx for yr kindness/I’m still spinning
    I must add I appreciate yr work

  3. George Ellington said

    Beautifully written. And keenly felt.

Leave a Reply

