N E C T A R I N E

February 14, 2012

“Christ, How this life,  from mud to miracles, is just the prettiest little burden, Isn’t it?”

                                                     -Richard Buckner, From “Mud

.

.

                 N E C T A R I N E

.

Pestering  yesterdays

Regret  me   relentlessly.

They’ll surface, then scorch me.

“Forget me, the torturee”

.

I didn’t want that rendezvous

& All it meant to me & you;

& Just in all a miraculous pinnacle for us,

A fine short time, against the rest,

A paradise lost & found later

In a reverie, our own long lost love letter.

.

It was harsh of me to keep you posted

In all that could go wrong

w/deepening deceptions.

.

I had made sure you’d catch me

Bending over our bed

Breathing into my delirious head

The scents of our nectarine juices.

I recall, I’d give all  for the very sweetest of juices.

One Response to “N E C T A R I N E”

  1. Evelyn said

    “It was harsh of me to keep you posted
    In all that could go wrong
    w/deepening deceptions.”

    This makes my chest burn a little, like I’ve done something wrong.

Leave a Reply

