growl

November 22, 2011

Days in Days out    You’re surprising me.

Without a thought  You’re  raising

Your voice  in most responses

To my end  of talk.

I bet I ingratiate  your  flow.

But  you initiate  wildfires

Within  me

Whenever you yell at this dog

A  slow  burn  is  born,

&  brown charred landscapes,

Crops Dead!  Imminent.

When you yell at this dog

I’ll walk away.   furthermore,

Every time,  farther

Damning us  on

Too far to return.

 

2 Responses to “growl”

  1. Love the metaphor of the (I presume) lover as a dog running through the poem.

  2. Nanda said

    “Crops Dead! Imminent.” love it!

Leave a Reply

