5 LOVE RINGS

April 8, 2011

For  my first love

I gave my class ring,

Mom hollered  a hint,

“I paid a mint for that thing!”

I   made  myself   blush

W/ a jade ring, and a promise.

My dead daddy’s ring’s  cracked

Black  Onyx  to honor him.

My partner’s  ring finger, It’s fact,

A diamond  as hard as love’s obligation.

Gold  has it’s  place

To praise  the wealth

Of Saving grace,

My offering

May please her face.

2 Responses to “5 LOVE RINGS”

  1. Evelyn said

    “My offering
    May please her face.”
    breathtaking…

  2. dantrewear said

    “A diamond as hard as love’s obligation” – nice, gritty, play of words and ideas

Leave a Reply

