Close Enough

January 18, 2011

Fledgling   thought

I thought back

when I was caught hitching

halfway across the  unsure states

between us. All pines and night.

Got there so late, wet in winter air,

even the last lit bar wouldn’t be warming me.

Your porch was no different.

You & yrs. sure didn’t see me coming.

I found on a phone that night

someone from home who might live there too.

Halfsleep shivering on his couch

.the “lastcall” crowd that lived there

stepped in and saw me

some angel would only come

close enough to cover me with her fur.

One Response to “Close Enough”

  1. Evelyn said

    This one is great, a real journey…
    interesting the association between angel and fur.

Leave a Reply

