Breathing Exercises

January 14, 2011

She won’t roll away & not watch me.

Y’see, I won’t  seem to take,

When I dream (or wake).

to take  another breath before

The scene fades, before

lights go up

then down  to more of a zoom.

She waits in our bedroom for me to resume.

                         II.

We went to go to a yoga class.

Where a barefooted, hairpleated group leader;

beautiful, and calmer than a

merciful last coma,

She insisted that our deep breath is

the gist of all of it  (within, & out).

We rearrange the short & tall of it.

The Gist to change the depth, see,

of our sea of possibillity.

When we inhale

we rememorize  our own gods.

We exhale our hell.  barefoot.  on a mat.

Whew. To that.

                        III.

When I get to go to the Gulf of Mexico

I’ll try out the drink,  1st thing.

I’ll try not to think when I try to let go

&  sink when I deadman’s float all day,

into what I think of as a spiritual drift, in a way.

I’ll hold onto my breath,

face down,

head down.

 –   –   –   –   –

from a sweeping turntable, 40 years ago, in the dark

“Breathe Deep

The gathering gloom

Watchlights fade from every room..”

.

.                                                                               –

2 Responses to “Breathing Exercises”

  1. Lovely write, so nicely done. Enjoyed it!

  2. Sheri said

    Am really diggin’ your pace and style. Your poems make me smile, in a “I actually get it” way. My prose is more the hand held stuff. 😀

    Just following up from a kind comment you left on my blog months ago. But I’ll be checking back more often.

    😀

Leave a Reply

